Soba with Parsley Pea Pesto

One of my favorite food sites, Food52, has themed recipe contests every week or so. The current theme “Your Best Recipe with Green Stuff”. I just found out that they like to have their viewers sign up to test these submitted recipes and give them feedback. How awesome is that?? I skimmed the recipes that still needed testers and this one was an easy pick. Super simple ingredients and easy to throw together.

IMG_0711
I looove soba noodles! I usually eat them with some kind of peanut sauce or just a sesame dressing, but this took them to a whole different level. Also, if you buy the 100% buckwheat noodles they’re an excellent gluten-free option for noodle salads.

IMG_0705
My review: the parsley pea pesto is thick and creamy (which is how I like them, some people like them on the looser side in which case you just add more olive oil) and held on perfectly to the soba noodles when I tossed them together. The peas make this pesto on the sweeter side. I think it would be improved with a couple cloves of garlic to add some zest to cut the sweetness and maybe just less peas. When I first tasted the pesto alone, I thought it was too sweet for me, but once I put everything together it made more sense. I would have liked some toasted slivered almonds for garnish to add some crunch and some fresh grated parmesan never hurts. The chopped kale gives the dish more body and color since this is, after all, a ‘Green Stuff’ contest! Overall, this is a wonderful light and simple spring noodle salad that just needs a little bit of tweaking.

IMG_0709
It’s so pretty and springy!

IMG_0712-2
I like this recipe testing thing. I signed up for another one: Chilled Avocado and Cucumber Soup. I’ll let you know how that one goes!
Now that I do it as a job, I don’t really have the urge to get creative and cook once I’m back home which is why I haven’t been posting much lately. The recipes are obviously TOP SECRET so I can’t share them with all of you 😦

Oh and check out the website for the cookbook: Run Fast Eat Slow
I feel so lucky to have found such an awesome gig with such wonderful people!

Soba with Parsley Pea Pesto (click here for original recipe link): serves 2
For the pesto:
2 cups frozen peas, thawed
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1 bunch flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped
zest and juice of 1 lemon
generous splashes of balsamic vinegar (I did about 2 splashes)
up to 1/2 cup olive oil (I used 1/4 cup plus drizzle more)

Directions:
1. Add all ingredients except olive oil to a food processor and pulse until roughly combined.
2. Add 1/4 cup olive oil and continue pulsing until mixture comes together. Add more olive oil as needed, 1 Tbsp at a time, if pesto needs to be thinned out. You want it to be loose enough that it will lightly coat your noodles.

For the noodles:
100g (or so) of dried soba noodles (I used 100% buckwheat soba)
salt
2 cups frozen peas, thawed (I used half this amount since I thought it didn’t need too much extra sweetness)
2 cups kale, chopped
1/2 cup parsley pea pesto

Directions:
1. Bring a small pot of water to a boil and salt generously. Once water has come to a boil, add dried soba noodles, give a good stir, turn off the heat and cover. Set aside for 5 minutes. I like my soba al dente and find that it is very easy to overcook. This method ensures that the noodles maintain their bite.
2. While noodles are cooking, heat frozen peas in the microwave (about 2.5 – 3 minutes on high, stirring halfway through). Add a small amount of water to the peas before microwaving them.
3. Once noodles and peas are cooked, drain and rinse the noodles with cold water and return to the pot. Drain the peas and add to the pot along with the chopped kale and pesto, toss to coat evenly.

2 thoughts on “Soba with Parsley Pea Pesto

Leave a Reply

