Fig Thumbprint Cookies (GF/Vegan)

I have this massive bag of figs from Costco and wanted to make some sort of baked good with them and the first thing that came to mind was a thumbprint cookie.

IMG_6235
I also was determined to make them vegan and gluten-free, so I went on the hunt for an almond flour based shortbread-like cookie. After looking at what seemed like hundreds of recipes, I found this super simple recipe from Bakerita. So I used her cookie base and created my fig filling and chocolate drizzle.

IMG_6252
The finished product. YUM.

IMG_6234
Dried figs pureed with some hot water, cinnamon and vanilla extract = fig paste. So easy!

IMG_6236
Cookies fresh out of the oven. Don’t get me wrong, these guys look beautiful as is, but I wanted to dress them up a little and I felt I needed to incorporate chocolate somehow. So I concocted a chocolate sauce out of coconut oil, cocoa powder, maple syrup and salt.

IMG_6245
These little guys are so cute and festive! The almond flour cookie base was so rich and decadent and turned out to be the perfect consistency. My friend said it reminded her of a shortbread cookie (exactly what I was going for!). The fig filling is so simple and naturally sweet and the chocolate drizzle makes it even more decadent. Plus, everything’s better when chocolate is involved.

For the cookies: recipe from Bakerita (makes about a dozen cookies)
1 1/4 cup almond flour
3 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
1/8 tsp salt (I added this because I think they could benefit from a little salt)

Directions:
1. Mix all the ingredients together until uniform. Place the dough in the fridge for about 20 minutes.
2. Now prepare the fig filling…

For the fig filling:
6 dried figs
a few splashes of hot water
a dash of cinnamon
1/8 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Tear up the figs into smaller pieces so it blends more easily. Put them into a food processor with the remaining ingredients and process until a paste forms. If it’s not coming together then just add more water.
2. Take the dough out of the fridge and form little balls (about 1 tbsp size) and very gently make an indentation in the center for the filling. Plop a little bit of the filling into each indentation. Bake in the oven at 375 degrees for about 10 minutes or until the edges and bottom are a golden brown.
3. While they cool, prepare the chocolate drizzle…

For the chocolate drizzle (I didn’t measure, I just adjusted to taste — this is my guess!)
3 tbsp coconut oil, melted
3 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp maple syrup
pinch of salt

Directions:
1. Mix all the ingredients together until you get the desired consistency, sweetness and chocolatey-ness. Using a spoon or any other suitable utensil to drizzle it over each little cookie.
2. Let the cookies sit out to cool and firm up and the drizzle to harden. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

