Pumpkin Molasses Bread

Last week I tried to create my own recipe for pumpkin bread based on ingredients I had on hand…boy was that a mistake. It came out of the oven looking great and then 15 minutes later I go to have a piece and the whole thing collapsed! Lesson learned, baking is a science, don’t get too cocky. Motivated for pumpkin bread success, I followed this recipe from Oh She Glows. Everything I’ve ever made from her blog has been mind blowingly good (these Coconut Macaroon Thumbprints being my favorite). I love all things molasses. It is very likely that you will be seeing more gingerbread-like goodies popping up on my blog because #1 ’tis the season, right? #2 I got a big ol’ tub of blackstrap molasses calling my name #3 I just went to Costco and got this giant tub of coconut oil for my dairy free baking needs.

IMG_6141
MASSIVE.

Anyways, lets talk about this bread. It’s so moist and full of flavor and it has that beautiful crusty top that I looove on sweet breads. I think the molasses and the ground cloves really take this could-have-been-boring-pumpkin-bread to a whole new level. The spices remind me so much of Christmas, it warms my soul just smelling it.

IMG_6162
Mmmm first slice, but certainly not the last. Somebody hide this from me.

IMG_6146
Wet into dry…

IMG_6148
Fold to combine, but don’t over mix!

IMG_6149
Okay, I’ve done my job. Time for science to do theirs.

IMG_6159
Science. I’ve always loved science, perhaps this is why.

IMG_6163
Get in ma belly.

IMG_6165
The perfect bite. Drizzled with a little almond butter. Uh huh…Soft on the inside with a wonderful crust on the top, this almond butter is a perfect pairing. I know what I’m having for breakfast…

Pumpkin Molasses Bread
Ingredients:
1 cup canned pumpkin
3 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 cup organic brown sugar
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup blackstrap molasses
1 egg
1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill Organic is the best)
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/8th tsp ground cloves
1 tsp sea salt

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 9×5 in loaf pan.
2. Combine all of the wet ingredients (from pumpkin to egg) into a bowl and whisk until uniform.
3. Combine the remaining ingredients in another bowl and mix to combine. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and gently fold them together until just combined. Make sure you don’t over mix here!
4. Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan. Pop it in the oven for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let it cool for a bit, then dig in!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Molasses Bread

  1. Natalie, wonderful that your trip is all organised and I will pick you up ! f the weather is nice we will go with a ferry which is lovely ! I am googling”oh she glows” and it sounds like a fun cookbook, I am thinking of ordering because I need new ideas! do you know it more in details? or what is the newest and easy new glutenfree cookbook that you know ? let me know what you think. could you and Jasper cook us one gluten free dinner which is just amazing in your opinion, we would do the shopping for it on our way from the airport. love Omama

Leave a Reply

