Portland Farmer’s Market: round 2

This is likely to become a weekly bike adventure…

This place is dangerous and requires a lot of self-control. I mean, the options are endless. Yes please, I’ll have some apricot jam, fresh baked bread, hand-made pasta, apple pie, roasted hazelnuts….the list goes on. It doesn’t help that they let you sample everything. But, I’ve learned my lesson before — now whenever I go to any farmers market, I gotta have a list in my brain of what I NEED. This time, I was only looking for some fall produce, end of story. You got this.

IMG_5963
Rainbow carrots, yes please.

IMG_5962
Those are some big ol’ beets. I’ll take ’em.

IMG_5964
Brussel sprouts unleashed. Yes.

IMG_5966
I wanted to buy those hazelnuts so bad. Nope, not on the list.
Successful day of farmer’s market self control.

Time to roast!

IMG_5974
Butternut squash and brussel sprouts tossed in olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted in the oven at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes.

IMG_5977
Into a bowl it went with some raw beets. This bowl of veg was much needed.

IMG_5980
Leftover butternut squash to play with, yay!

Leave a Reply

