Smashed Avocado and Boiled Egg on Toast with a Side of Kimchi

There’s something so satisfying about smashing an avocado on a piece of toast…I topped it with sliced boiled egg and some sriracha. Simplicity at it’s finest. Better yet, it’s a locally made sourdough wheat bread from Pirate Bread here in Portland.

IMG_5899
At the farmers market, I was intrigued by the stinky smell coming from the kimchi booth. I’ve honestly never had good kimchi and had to give it a try. I also know that fermented foods have a ton of digestive health benefits, which I could use! The process of fermentation creates tons of beneficial enzymes and probiotics to help with digestion while also preserving the nutrients in the veggies and making them more digestible.

IMG_5902
Choi’s Kimchi Company makes some pretty fantastic kimchi. For those of you that don’t know, kimchi is a korean fermented vegetable side dish made with a huge variety of seasonings. This one is fermented bok choy and cabbage. It’s spicy and tangy and despite it’s narsty stench, tastes delicious.

IMG_5900

A perfect accompaniment to my avocado and egg toast.

IMG_5903
More fermented farmer’s market finds! Portland Ugly Goat Kraut. It consists of cabbage, kale, collards, chard, broccoli and squash. All fermented to perfection in this cute little mason jar. Love me some gut kraut, jaaaa.
I would love to make my own fermented veggies, but it’s just so much easier to buy someone else’s. I will muster up the courage one of these days….

One thought on “Smashed Avocado and Boiled Egg on Toast with a Side of Kimchi

Leave a comment