Healthy Snickers

In response to my intense mid-day Snickers craving, I decided to take matters into my own hands.

My hope was to create some sort of chocolate peanut caramel creation that might be reminiscent of a Snickers bar using the ingredients I had on hand. I created a chocolate layer, date caramel layer, and peanut butter nougat-resembling layer.

IMG_4219

Chocolate layer:
2T coconut oil
2T cocoa powder
2t agave
1/4t salt
*Melt the coconut oil and mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.

Date caramel layer:
1 cup dates, blended into a paste
*Place dates in a blender and blend until a paste begins to form. It may help to soak your dates in water for an hour OR adding a little bit of water to the blended can also help.

Nougat layer:
2T peanut butter
1/3 cup rolled oats, ground into a flour
1t agave
1t coconut oil
*These measurements are guesses because in my haste to create this layer, I did not measure. Just keep adding the different components until you get the taste and consistency you like.

Attempt #1:
My first attempt didn’t have the nougat layer in it. I did a layer of chocolate, then a layer of caramel, then a layer of peanuts, then a layer of date caramel mixed with peanut butter topped with another layer of chocolate. I put it in the freezer for a few minutes to set, and then dug in.

IMG_4212
IMG_4213
Yes…it was delicious and very satisfying, but I was missing that nougat layer and needed more peanut in there. I decided to combine some ground oats, peanut butter, coconut oil and agave to create a nougat-like layer.

Attempt #2:

IMG_4222

I let these sit longer in the freezer (about an hour), which made each layer very distinct and created a better bite.

IMG_4223
Starting from the bottom, you’re looking at a layer of chocolate, peanut butter ‘nougat’, date caramel, and peanuts topped with a final layer of chocolate and sprinkle of sea salt. Thus creating…

The perfect bite:

IMG_4224
Nailed it.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Snickers

Leave a Reply

